Selborne College, P O Box 11194, Southernwood, 5213, Telephone: 043 722 1822, E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Selbornian 100th Special Edition Pack

Click to see more.

Mr Andrew Dewar had his first day at Selborne College, as Headmaster, on Monday 2 March 2014.

Andrew Dewar 5

 Mr Andrew Dewar

 Selborne College 1st Water Polo Team won the Vides Water Polo Tournament, beating St Albans (5-4) in the final.

 Selborne College 1st Water Polo Team shared the gold medal with Clifton (3-3) at Grey Bloem Water Polo Tournament.

Selborne College 1st Water Polo Team - Winners at Grey Bloem 2015

Back (Left to Right): Justin van Wyk, Cole van Tonder, Jonathan Carter, Dale Heath, Ross Reeves, Callan Dewar and Stanislav Gospodinov.

Middle (Left to Right): Josh Allderman, Mr Stanislav Gospodinov (Coach), Michael Osner (Captain), Mr Mike Cousins (Manager) and Ian Donovan.

Front (Left to Right): Luke Seymour, Bradley Johnson and Daniel Ryan.



The class of 2014 again produced a healthy set of results with 80% of the class passing at the level required for entry to Bachelor’s degree studies and 99% passing overall (1 of the 142 candidates still needs to pass a subject in the supplementary examinations). The outstanding results of top candidates are particularly pleasing. An impressive 5 candidates achieved distinctions for all 7 of their subjects, while 18 achieved 4 or more distinctions.

Rohin Jain’s results are truly amazing. His full house of distinctions includes 100% for Mathematics and Physical Science, 99% for Accounting and 95% for Life Sciences. His average is 94%. He was the top Mathematics achiever in the country, was second in Physical Science and also top in South Africa in Mathematics and Physical Science combined.

Cecil Jnawali’s 97% for Accounting and 95% for Mathematics also stand out. He achieved his 7 distinctions at an average of 90%. Jonathan Dutton, Mlingane Matiwane and Reece Pienaar also achieved distinctions for all 7 of their subjects. Siviwe Dlanga achieved 99% for Mathematics and 6 distinctions in all. Other candidates to achieve 6 distinctions were Matthew Brain, Jody Julies, John Kachoko, Anthony Malinzi and Jason Steyn. Jacinto da Silva (96% for History) and Daniel Petzer achieved 5 distinctions, while Ross Ashmead, Vivek George, Sheldon Moss, Bradley Pape and Justin Thomas each achieved 4 distinctions. Rogan Oelofse’s 94% for Visual Art is indicative of his talent in this subject.

There were 19 distinctions for Mathematics, 16 for History, 15 for Accounting, 13 for Physical Sciences and Life Sciences,12 for English, 10 for Mathematical Literacy, 7 for EGD and Afrikaans, 4 for IsiXhosa, 2 for Geography and Music and 1 for Visual Art. Subject averages were healthy with Life Orientation, EGD, Visual Art and Mathematical Literacy over 70% and English, IsiXhosa, Mathematics, Accounting, Life Sciences, History and Music all at 60% or more.

SC Matric Class of 2014

Congratulations to Selborne College's Rohin Jain, who came 1st in Mathematics, 2nd in Physical Science and 1st in Mathematics and Physical Science combined, in the whole of South Africa. The results were announced on SABC by Minister of Basic Education, Angie Motshekga during a special broadcast. Congratulations to Rohin on this unbelievable achievement. The Selborne Family is extremely proud.

Rohin Jain

Rohin Jain

Selborne College bid the Gunn's Farewell

Friday 28th November 2014.

Mr Gunn Final Assembly 1

Mr Gunn addresses the boys for the final time after 21 years of unbelievable service.

Enjoy your retirement sir!

Mrs Gunn Final Assembly 1

Mrs Denise Gunn was guest of honour at the final assembly of the year.

Mr Gunn Final Assembly 2

The school bid the Gunn's farewell with a rousing rendition of the Selborne WAR CRY!

Selborne College Class of 2014

Valedictory Service and OSA Induction

Valedictory 1 2014

Selborne College received a certificate from SANBS (South African National Blood Services), for the most units of blood collected in 2014. Selborne College was praised for their dedication towards the Peer Promoter Project and the extra effort in helping to save lives. The boys and staff of Selborne College can be proud of their achievements in donating blood over the past year.

Blood Drive 2014 - 1   Blood Drive 2014 - 2

Founders' Day 2014

Founders Day 2014 - 3

Ceremony of the Key, Founders' Day 2014

Founders Tea 1

 Tea at Founders' Day 2014

Retreat 2014 - 1

 Retreat, Founders' Day 2014

Click to access Cape Schools Cricket Week 2014

Jame Bruce 103 not out

James Bruce of Selborne College celebrates after scoring 103 not out against Union HS in their limited over's match, at Cape Schools Cricket Week 2014. Selborne College 1st XI scored 254/1 in their allotted 50 over's. Union HS scored 147 all out. Selborne College won by 107 runs.

Selborne College is delighted to announce that the Prefect Body for 2015, has been elected as follows:

Morgan Steyn (Head Boy), Senyo Simpson (Deputy Head Boy), Joshua Allderman, Matthew Aucamp, Micheal Botha, David Brits, Simbulele Deli, Todd Dustan, Dale Heath, Lwazi Hewu, Andile Koyana, Bathandwa Mbadlanyana, Lutho Selem, Braden Sincock, Luke Stone, Grant Venter and Hayden Worth.

Selborne College Interact Club, in conjunction with Clarendon, raised R 17,000.00,

which was handed to Mrs Debbie Kleinenberg from CHOC.

Interact Hand Over to CHOC Web

From left to right: Mr Phiwe Nomlomo, Blayne Miller, Mrs Debbie Kleinenberg, Mr Marius Fourie,

Tshimangadzo Nemuranojoni, Mrs Val Mocke, Mr A.H. Gunn, Natalie Sauti and Rohin Jain.


SelbornevsGreyHS 1

SC for Selborne College!